PM Congratulates Two Malaysian Scientists

Kuala Lumpur – Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak yesterday congratulated two Malaysian scientists for winning the prestigious Asean Science and Technology Awards in two separate categories in Indonesia two days ago.

Assoc Prof Ir Dr Sharifah Rafidah Wan Alwi from the Chemical Engineering Department of Universiti Teknologi Malaysia won the Asean Young Scientist and Technologist Award (AYSTA), while Prof Dr Harith Ahmad from the Physics Department of Universiti Malaya won the Asean Outstanding Scientist and Technologist Award (AOSTA).

“Congratulations to Assoc Prof Ir Dr Sharifah Rafidah and Prof Dr Harith Ahmad on winning the Asean Science and Technology Awards,” said Najib in his Twitter posting.

The prime minister also provided a link to the Bernama news report on the awards presentation.

The two Malaysian scientists received US$10,000 (RM31,461) and US$15,000 respectively at the awards ceremony last night in conjunction with the 8th Asean Ministerial-Level Unofficial Meeting on Science and Technology.

The awards presentation is held every three years to also commemorate the Asean Science and Technology Week which has entered its 9th edition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.